Jaya EBay !

Around two months back I lost the data cable of my Nokia n70 mobile phone, and Nokia service center was asking astronomically high price for that cable (around 1700 INR / 43USD) see older post. Since then some of you have asked me what did I do? Did I offer the ransom money to Nokia who has taken my phone as hostage, so I could not download and install any new games, themes, ringtones, wallpapers, books, etc on the phone from my PC or transfer any of the picture I have taken from the camera in phone?

Well, the answer is No. No, I didn’t pay Nokia even a single penny (not even a single new Paisa for that matter). Instead I went straight upto EBAY and Searched for the Nokia’s data cable. I found two options available CA-70 and CA-53. The former one has capability of even charging the phone from PC’s USB port. And surprisingly these nice vendors on EBay were charging less then a tenth of what Nokia asked.

So, after looking at the feedback for different sellers, I picked up one in Delhi. Went ahead and placed the order. Zap in 2 days I had the data cable was delivered. No hassle, no extra charge (except for 40INR/1USD as postage and handling, which was explicitly mentioned at the time of placing the order).

I have been using this cable for last two months now, for charging the phone and transferring the data between the phone and PC, and cable is working perfectly fine.

And to Nokia, Thank you; I mean, No Thank you for being such a hijacker.

Leave a Reply

