Sony/MS trying to fuel the entrepreneurial bug in me ?

A few weeks back I got one of my friends to get me a Sony laptop from US of A. The sole reason for buying it from there was the price difference, a hefty 20K INR approx. The model that I got was not available in India and the model with almost the same configuration (but with 1GB lesser RAM) was costing about 64K INR. The laptop is good, with nice screen and decent webcam. Just that the pre-installed Microsoft Windows Vista on it seems to be eating up a lot of resources. I expected the machine to be running realy fast with very low response time and why not, it has 3 GB RAM and Core 2 Duo processor, but Vista like a vampire seems to sucking the life force out of machine.

Still I am ok using the machine with Vista on it atleast for now, as I also have a couple of year old personal Desktop with 1/3rd hardware resources running Ubuntu with excellent performance. I use the desktop extensively. Today I thought of removing some unnecessary things from the laptop to improve the boot time and get some more space on the disk. I started looking for pre-installed useless stuff. After removing a few small softwares I found that my machine had Intuit Quickbooks pre-installed on it. For the uninitiated Quickbooks is an accounting software generally used by small to medium sized firms. Now the point is I have this laptop with Microsoft’s Windows Vista Home Premium edition on it. So, it would be expected for Home use, then why does it comes with an business accounting software pre-installed on it which eats up over 600 MB of disk space. I don’t have a good answer for it. All I can say is Intuite may have paid Micrsoft or Sony to have Quickbooks pre-installed on the machines, it seems they just didn’t bother to check their target audience.

Anyway I am happy removing that software, but for a moment I thought, may be I could have left it there and used it later when, who knows, I would have my own firm.

Leave a Reply

